finally finished – the katniss cowl!

I AM SO HAPPY THIS PROJECT IS OVER.  Mostly, I’m happy because I’ve finished it and I don’t want to frog everything and begin again. This is good, folks.

Below is a screenshot from the movie, along with a very primitive schematic I made up to explain the engineering process that went into the cowl.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 2.55.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-11-24 at 2.48.04 AM

Basically, I did a provisional cast on of 30 st and then made increases on every row to create the right-leaning shoulder portion of the cowl. Once I had enough stitches for the shoulder portion, I slipped them off onto scrap yarn and knit the body. To create the waist shaping, I worked until where I eyeballed the waist to be on myself, then worked some w&t rows in a pyramidal fashion to create some extra material on the bottom (sort of like a triangle shaped insert) for my hips.  Once it was long enough, I kitchenered the body piece together and then picked up the shoulder strap, which was just straight knitting with two buttonholes at the end. A little steaming at the end to flatten things out, and voila!

David’s at home for Thanksgiving and CeeCee doesn’t have thumbs, so self-timer it was for these photos (operating it was much more difficult than I anticipated).  But here’s what the finished* product looks like.

DSCN1129 DSCN1130 DSCN1132 DSCN1134(Please note CeeCee photobombing in the bottom right of the top two photos.)

* By finished, I mean finished for now. I might want to shorten it and knit a cool collar onto it, kind of like in the screenshot.  That’s what I kind of like/hate about the self-designed project, I’m realizing – either you tweak forever, or you accept that it won’t be 100% what you imagined. 

Other copykatniss posts:

3 comments

Leave a Reply

