on mass production

Over a month ago, I decided to be proactive and drew up a Christmas list of gifts for others.  I figured that since I had almost two years of knitting under my belt, I should suck it up and make as many knitted gifts as possible – even if it meant starting insanely (five months) early. When I realized how many people I wanted to bestow with something warm and fuzzy, I decided to knit a couple things many times over (namely, the Tuesday Night Cowl and the Growing Leaves Cowl).  I figured that I’d save myself time, sanity and money by not having to memorize ten different patterns, standardizing my process (and hopefully speeding it up along the way) and not spending a buttload of money on different needles.

Slide5

What I didn’t account for was that I would absolutely loathe knitting the same thing over and over again.  I can watch movies multiple times, I’ve reread the entire Harry Potter series approximately once a year for as long as I can remember, I eat the same thing for lunch almost every single day – time and again, I’ve proven that I am a creature of habit to an almost disgusting extent.  Apparently, I’ve reached my limit – I cannot repeat knitting projects without losing some of my marbles (evidence below).

Photo on 8-21-13 at 12.05 AM #2 Photo on 8-21-13 at 12.06 AM  Photo on 8-21-13 at 12.06 AM #2 Photo on 8-21-13 at 12.06 AM #3

 

(Apologies to all friends and loved ones who were expecting a Christmas gift I hadn’t contaminated with my mouth-breathing.)

Alas, alack. (I’m also whining because I have only finished FOUR of these bad boys, and I have four more cowls to go. And I know plenty of people on the internet have knit probably four times forty of the same thing without whining nearly as much as I have.) I’ll just have to knit through the drudgery.  I definitely have enough yarn for that, considering my mammoth KnitPicks order, shown below (before I started any of my Christmas knitting). I guess they didn’t want to spend the shipping money on a larger box, so my order came packaged like this – doesn’t it make me look like a crazy yarn hoarder?  I’m really looking forward to converting all of this yarn into FOs.

DSCN1107

3 comments

    1. That’s definitely a comfort, then (: It was such a surprise to walk into my apartment lobby and casually glance in its direction, thinking “ha, what a janky looking box” only to realize that it was from KnitPicks and addressed to me!

Leave a Reply

