copykat(niss) part 2: progress and anti-progress

I had finally made some headway just in time for more of the movie cowl to be revealed, showing my design to be a bit off.  The newer preview shows that the back is quite different than I (and I think many others) had expected.  I assumed it would be symmetrical to the front, but nope – some weird looping and branching off happens in the back.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 2.55.44 PMAfter some doodling, I think I figured out the shapes of the pieces I’d need to make and graft together in order to get a more or less faithful-to-the-film cowl.  Buuuuut… I had already almost finished the first (and largest) portion of my own project.  I decided to keep trucking with what I had.  Then, when I bound off, I HATED it. It was just way too big and lumpy and not what I had hoped for. Whoops.  So I started over. That’s what I get for trying to cheat on this cowl.  I’ve finished the crossbody loop piece and now all that remains is picking up stitches for and knitting the flap that will go over the shoulder.

Slide2 Slide1

 

I still don’t know why it occurs to me to take photos of my knitting only AFTER I finish long workouts and am sweaty and gross and wearing a sports bra.  Sorry world.  Also, it is both a pathetic and a difficult thing to take mirror selfies with a DSLR (I got too crabby with the timer, and nostalgic for high school I guess?).

In other news, I need to find a good way to securely close this thing once it’s done. Any suggestions?  I’m thinking a seriously overlarge toggle (a la this one found on Knitpicks) to go with the rustic Hunger Games-y feel.

One more thing! I reread Catching Fire (all in one day, it was a sick glut of reading) and I am now insanely excited for this movie.  The second book in the trilogy is probably my favorite, so I can’t wait to see what they do with the movie adaptation.  Fangirl squee.

4 comments

  1. I am in the same conundrum. I had the same thought about making a couple of pieces and grafting them together. What stitch did you use for your cross body piece? Looking at pictures of the movie piece, it is so chunky and almost looks like braided ropes stitched together. I just can’t find a stitch that give me the same chunky feeling… :{

    1. Hi! I am terribly remiss about updating my progress on this project, but I recently re-re-started over. I’m trying to knit the thing all in one piece. I’ve written up what I’ve done so far below to kind of give you an idea of what I’m going for. Sorry if this is confusing, I haven’t been taking the greatest (read: any) notes while writing this. (And yes! I know what you mean about the chunkiness of the stitches on the cowl, I’ve given up 100% verisimilitude at this point because I think I’d need like 3 strands of yarn to do it.)

      Using provisional CO, CO 30st
      K6, P2, K6, P2, K6, P2, K6
      P6, K2, P6, K2, P6, K2, P5, place marker, P1
      K1, m1, sm, K5, work in rib for rest of row
      work in rib to marker, sm, m1, p2
      Work in this pattern, creating ribbed pattern on the stitches added, until 30 st have been added.
      *Since I want the cowl to sit primarily on my left shoulder with the cross-body piece sweeping over to my right shoulder and around, I made it so the stitches added all leaned to that side.*

      So basically the first 30 st I cast on would be the ones that go under the arm, while the ones I slowly added are going to be the cross-body piece. I slipped the cross body piece stitches onto spare yarn and I’m currently knitting the loop piece that goes under the arm. I’m planning on doing some waist shaping using w&ts but I am only just reaching that point. When I’ve reached a length that can go under my arm and up my back, I’m going to kitchener stitch the two ends together and then move back to the cross-body piece, which will just end in a flap that toggles down to the back loop.

      If you’re interested in alternate versions, Rachel over at (http://allnightknitter.wordpress.com/) has actually completed a lovely Katniss cowl at some point.

Leave a Reply

