copykat(niss) part 1 – sketching and such

Not too long ago, Rachel posted a rather inspiring call to action on her blog.  She had seen the new Catching Fire promotional posters, and Katniss was wearing a very interesting (and also very tempting) cowl.  After reading her post and all of the excited comments, this was a project I just couldn’t pass up.

I know that I’m not alone in this endeavor – a few other blogs are doing the same project, and it’s a safe bet that a pattern is brewing somewhere in the depths of Ravelry at this very moment.  Regardless, here’s what I’ve come up with so far!  If I don’t lose my knitting mojo and I like what I create, I’ll put up a full pattern here/on Ravelry for everyone to use.

Yarn selection: Being poor and inexperienced, I chose a bulky acrylic yarn (Knit Picks Brava).  I really wanted this to be soft (hence the acrylic over Wool of the Andes), but I don’t have the cash to shell out for a super-soft bulky yarn in a natural fiber.  The warmth wasn’t as much of an issue for me as I see this item as more of an accessory that you’d wear over long sleeves anyway, not so much as a protection from the winter elements.

Pattern design: Hoo boy. I spent quite a bit of time with my nose 3in away from the computer screen for this one.  From the poster, I would say that the top bit of the cowl looks crocheted.  However, I don’t know how to crochet and at this time I am 100% unwilling to learn (too many hobbies, too little time).

Instead, I decided to fake it and knit something ribbed in the round to create a vertical orientation of vv knit stitches.

I haven’t 100% figured out the body of the cowl yet.  In order to create the diagonal rib appearance, I think I’ll start with really short rows and gradually increase with right- and left-leaning stitches.  I’ll create two right triangles and then seam them on to the bottom of the cowl.  They’ll be fastened by toggles or buttons.

Right now I have the beginnings of the cowl – just a few rounds.  I’m super excited to keep working and see what happens!

3 comments

  1. *CLAPPING!!* Good luck, I cannot wait to see what it turns out like! I have a few knitters who are sending me test patterns if you get stuck or want to trade notes. 🙂

    My niece is going to be so happy!

Leave a Reply

