beachy-keen: a quick cover-up

I’ve been on a bit of an organization drive lately.  I am a big subscriber to UFYH (heads up: some NSFW language is prominently displayed on the site), and with its motivational help and handy tips, I’ve been slowly un-destroying parts our apartment after a rather long-term guest moved out of the living room.  In my most recent attack on a closet, I found some pretty cool stuff: some beautiful glass beads and a stack of men’s size XL t-shirts.  Now that summer is upon us, I figured I could refashion some of the t-shirts into beach cover-ups (or, let’s be honest, things in which I can schlub around my apartment when I don’t have to go anywhere).

Never mind that as I write this, it’s only 61 degrees outside and we had to wake up in the middle of the night to turn off the fan.  This cover-up will someday see the light (and sand) of the beach, but not until Chicago decides it’s ready for some consistently summery weather.  Until then, I guess I’ll just have to settle with showing it off on my blog (:

I used this video tutorial, which was very well done.  The whole project took less than an hour.  If I were using this as a dress rather than a cover-up, I’d recommend using a t-shirt in sizes XXL or larger if possible – this was mighty short, even for my stumpy legs.

Photo on 6-19-13 at 4.36 PMNow that I’ve finished this uncharacteristically short/young/hip sewing project – back to knitting!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

