dia de la madre

Happy Mother’s Day to my mama and all the other excellent ladies out there who have gestated human beings!  This year I did a mostly handmade gift for my mom and I thought I’d share it with y’all.

Slide2I feel like many people know of a style of art or self-expression from another culture that they really enjoy.  For me, it’s henna.  For my mom, it’s sugar skulls (well, that’s at least one of the many multicultural art things she enjoys).  So for Mother’s Day, I thought I’d make her sugar skull shoes!

Slide3I followed it up with a papel picado card (gotta keep to the theme).  The template is my own, but I got the idea from Paper Made, a really interesting paper (duh) crafts book that my mama gave me for Christmas.  I am more or less satisfied with the result, although I did have to start over a few times because I kept messing up the lettering.  In the end I just decided I’d be happy with what I got and move on for the sake of my own sanity.  So, if you want to do a papel picado project I would definitely recommend that when you design your template you don’t create something that requires Mother Teresa-esque patience and the fine motor skills of a hand surgeon.

Slide1

One comment

Leave a Reply

