something different

I do a lot of arts and crafts. (Duh.)  Most of the time, I do those arts and crafts alone in my apartment, talking to myself (now I guess I talk to my cat), usually when I’m not wearing any pants.  While I do love this arrangement (because who loves pants? not me), sometimes it is nice to leave my hermitage and go do something artsy with other people.

As you can probably guess, I’m writing this blog post for a reason – I recently did do something in public/outside my zone of comfort (but let’s be honest, most things in public are outside my zone of comfort). I tried a Monday Masterpieces class at Bottle and Bottega with some of my classmates.  I was initially really apprehensive about doing it, because I feel like I can be overly critical of the things I make, and having those feelings in public around strangers is generally not an enjoyable experience. And really – trying to recreate a literal masterpiece is kind of intimidating, especially when you’re trying to do it in 2.5 hours.  However, I failed to factor in the most important factor: I would be doing this with wine (hence the Bottle in their name).  And you know what?  It was actually FUN!  And I liked what I did, enough to even want to hang it up in my house!  Very (pleasantly) surprising.

(photo from bottle and bottega's facebook page)

(photo from bottle and bottega’s facebook page)

If you’re in the Chicago area (or actually any area with Bottle and Bottega locations), I really recommend trying it out, alone or in a group!  It might have been the wine, but I was definitely in a really good mood when I finished, and I even have something to show for my evening (:

Slide1 And here’s a gratuitous photo of my cute sleepy kitty, just because I can. Sorry world.

Slide2

One comment

Leave a Reply

