terrari-funs

IT IS SPRING. I have vehemently declared it so; pay no mind to the fact that it’s 40 degrees outside today.  To celebrate this awesome spring-ness (and to also to remedy the fact that I have no living organisms in my apartment besides the humans that live there) I decided to make some air plant terrariums, which seem to be pretty hot stuff on the interwebs at the moment.

Slide2

The kits to make them can get kind of pricey, but if you want to buy in larger quantities and make your own then it gets considerably cheaper.  When I bought supplies for twelve, the cost came to less than $4 per terrarium.  Some are going to be given away as gifts, and the rest are going to decorate our apartment.

Slide1

If you want to make your own, you definitely should – it’s very, very hard to screw up.  Just pour and arrange, and presto! (:  If you’re not sure where to get started, here’s where I got my supplies. I am not receiving any compensation for promoting these – I’m just a satisfied customer.

  • Hanging plant terrarium holders, set of 12 from Amazon
  • 5 pack of standard air plants, from Etsy (the seller also has more exotic air plants, or sells them individually as well.  This shop is great about providing very thorough care instructions for air plants – it is really easy to take care of them, though).  You can buy these on Amazon as well, but they’re actually cheaper on Etsy.
  • Aquarium gravel – I didn’t buy it online, but it came from Petco and I got it for around $4 for 5 lbs.
  • Shells – my stash from California and Chile

Okay – I’m at the point where I’ve written or thought the word “terrarium” so many times that it now does not seem like a real word anymore. So here’s one more picture! Yay air plants.

Slide3PS: All photo credits in this post go to David, because I haven’t been at home during the daytime since I made these plants.  Poo to not being at home, but yay for awesome boyfriends who like taking pictures (:

 

Leave a Reply

