in memoriam

The unthinkable (and probably inevitable) finally came to pass.

(wait for it)

Photo on 2-12-14 at 8.51 PM

I lost a hand-knit mitten on the bus. Guys. GUYS. Don’t all jump to comfort me at once. I’ll be okay. You should be heaping your sympathy on my right-hand mitten, whose fate will be to live out his treasured golden years all alone in a dark corner of my yarn stash (because I anthropomorphize everything and I am way too sentimental to throw out something I knit even if it no longer has any use).

While this could have been the coup de gras to the disintegrating dignity with which I am slogging through this winter, I chose to take this as a sign that I needed to knit myself a new pair of mittens.  It will be some time before I actually have time (hello David’s sweater which I still haven’t finished) to make my own, but that hasn’t stopped me from making a shortlist from my bloated list of favorites on Ravelry.  (All images are taken from their respective Ravelry pages.)

First up, we have the Catscan Mittens, I’m almost certain I’ll make even though I have gone through the pretense of making a list.  As a medical student, cat aficionado, and lover of all puns, I am pretty sure I’m obligated to make these things.  This will be motivation to keep knitting through my stash, so I can use up enough yarn to buy more for this project (thanks 3 out 1 in challenge).

catscanphoto_medium

Next up are the Mors du Cheval mittens, which are gorgeous, have a free pattern, and I already have stash yarn I could use (soooo sensible), but I guess I just love to make things difficult for myself and I’m not really feeling these guys. Alas/alack.

IMG_3799_medium2

Finally – the INSULATE mittens.  I love these for very obvious reasons. They would also unfortunately necessitate buying outside of stash (rats), but they are just so excellent and I love to take any opportunity to let my Doctor Who flag fly.

SAM_1606_medium2

 

What do you think? Should I go with the Catscan mittens or take a chance with one of the others?  And how do you cope with the tragic loss of knits?

4 comments

  1. I’ve had Mors du Cheval in my faves for ages, but haven’t made them yet. They are lovely, but obviously not lovely enough to motivate me to make them. :) (Also, I like fingerless gloves more.) Either of the others are hilarious and awesome and fun!

Leave a Reply

