an anniversary

Hi new blog theme!

The other day I realized that I have been blogging for a little more than a year. A whole year! That’s a long time for me to continue thinking that I am witty enough to spew my inane thoughts all over the internet.  While sometimes I feel guilty for not having the time, skills or cash (excuses: med school, med school, and ho boy, med school) to do loads of projects and make myself internet famous like so many of the craft blogs I adore, having this little chunk of WordPress has definitely helped me be more of a maker, and think about what I want to actually get out of all my making and blogging (besides more swants, of course).

IMG_5207

Sewing and knitting clothes for myself and others made me realize something: making clothes is hard.  What’s even more difficult is being a mindful consumer. So much of what I own is “fast fashion,” because that’s all I can afford. Global events (like the Dhaka building collapse) and then petty things close to home (cheap clothes fitting poorly and shredding themselves in the dryer) have made me less and less enthused about buying from big boxes. Even though I recently made some noise about not making any resolutions, this year I’d like to work on two things: clearing some of my stash (this goes for both fabric and yarn), and building a wearable handmade wardrobe.  I’m not sure if these two will contradict each other, but whatever, I’m giving it a shot.

My current plan is to follow the 3 out, 1 in 2014 challenge set up by a Bouquet of Buttons, which seems fairly realistic. Basically, my goal is to reduce both stashes to the point that David no longer notices them – because as far as I’m concerned, if he isn’t commenting on how much yarn I have then the stash is definitely a reasonable size.  As for the wardrobe planning, I’ve got a few resources: Bobbins and Whimsy is working on the same thing, and the Coletterie has just released  an interesting new series called the Wardrobe Architect.  Alsooooo, I was thinking about upgrading my sewing machine in order to sew knits (my current machine is very basic and does not really offer anything in the way of stretch stitches for knits, which is something I’d like to incorporate in this “wardrobe architecting” I am supposed to be doing).  The one I’ve got my Amazon eyeballs on is the Brother CS6000i (shoooo fansayy), but I feel like I should do a couple more projects on my basic Singer before I pull the trigger on this bad boy. Eeep! Big things ahead. I can’t wait (:

_MG_2869

2 comments

Leave a Reply

